Professor Tim J. Donohoe

Stacks Image 37
I am currently Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oxford and a fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford. Our research lies in the field of asymmetric synthesis and the application of stereoselective oxidation and reduction reactions to natural product synthesis. We have a burgeoning interest in the area of carbohydrates and the application of metathesis to the synthesis of heterocycles. My group currently consists of four post doctoral researchers, eleven D.Phil. students and four Part II students.
Curriculum Vitae
Academic Titles d Positions
2006 – 2011 Head of Organic Chemistry, University of Oxford
2004 – present Professor of Chemistry, Magdalen College and the University of Oxford
2001 – 2004 Lecturer in Chemistry, Magdalen College and the University of Oxford
2000 – 2001 Reader in Chemistry, University of Manchester
1994 – 2000 Lecturer in Chemistry, University of Manchester
1993 – 1994 Post doctoral research with Prof. P. D. Magnus FRS on the synthesis of Taxol and its deoxy derivatives using an intramolecular pyrylium ylide cycloaddition approach, resulting in 5 publications.
1989 – 1992 D.Phil, Oxford University, under the supervision of Prof. S. G. Davies entitled Chiral Oxonium Ions, resulting in 5 publications.
1985 – 1989 BSc (Hons) first class, University of Bath. Final year project with Professor T. J. Gallagher entitled Ketenethioacetals as synthons for the synthesis of substituted aminoacids
Department of Chemistry
Chemistry Research Laboratory
12 Mansfield Rd, OX1 3TA
Telephone: 44 (0) 1865 275 649
Awards and positions
2022 Royal Society of Chemistry: Tilden Prize
2019-2021 Editor-in-Chief of Tetrahedron Letters
2018-2021 Chairman of the Board of Editors of Tetrahedron Publications
2015-2021 Editor of Tetrahedron Letters
EPSRC Established Career Fellow
Royal Society of Chemistry: Charles Rees Award
AstraZeneca, GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer & Syngenta Prize for Process Chemistry Research
Royal Society of Chemistry: Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award
Royal Society of Chemistry: Corday-Morgan Medal
AstraZeneca Award for Organic Chemistry
Novartis Young Investigator Award
Pfizer Academic Award
Glaxo Wellcome award for Innovative Chemistry
1998 – 2001
Associate Editor (UK) for the journal Tetrahedron Letters